JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 222
Search - JEvents
Search - Categories
Search - Contacts
Search - Content
Search - News Feeds
Search - Web Links
Search - SunBay
Search - JComments
Wednesday, 16 March 2016 13:24

Election Day Results Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Election Day has come and gone here in Lee County, and in addition to the Presidential Primaries that were held this past Tuesday, the Towns of Fort Myers Beach and Bonita Springs also held elections for their Council. In addition, FMB held a vote on a number of referendum.

Donald Trump easily took a plurality of the vote in the Republican primary for Lee County. With over 108 thousand votes counted, Trump took over 51 thousand of them for nearly 48 percent of the vote. U.S. Senator Marco Rubio posted second place with 22 percent of the vote (with almost 24 thousand votes), and U.S. Senator Ted Cruz came in third with just over 19 thousand votes at nearly 18 percent.

On the Democratic side of the ballot, Hillary Clinton beat U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders with just under 63 percent of the vote (almost 28 thousand votes) to his 35 percent (just under 16 thousand.)

Both Trump and Clinton won the statewide primary for their respective parties.

In the Bonita Springs Mayoral election, Councilmember Peter Simmons won the race with just under 51 percent of the vote, beating out Vice Mayor Stephen McIntosh (45 percent) and Rick Steinmeyer (4 percent).

Bonita Springs District 1 seat was won by Amy Burns Quaremba with nearly 50 percent of the vote in a three-way race for the seat vacated by McIntosh, beating out fellow challengers Marc Devisse and Richard A. Ferreira with 1,338 votes.

District 2 was a tighter race, with Gregory DeWitt beating Jesse Purdon with 52 percent of the vote (680 votes) to fill outgoing Councilmember Janet Martin’s seat.

In Fort Myers Beach’s at large election for 2 of the 5 seats on their Town Council, Tracey Gore was a commanding first place finish with over 27 percent of the votes cast, with former Mayor Dennis Boback coming in second with nearly 18 percent of the vote to take the second vacant seat.

Among the notable referendum results, the residents of FMB elected to remove the limitations on the Town’s ability to engage in long term financing with 52 percent approval.

The Townspeople also elected to reject the removal of term limits for Councilmembers with a dominant 83 percent of the vote. They also rejected lengthening the terms of Council members from 3 to 4 years with 61 percent of the vote.

Read 1279 times Last modified on Wednesday, 16 March 2016 14:00

Add comment

Security code




digital version